The Greater Good

Shirts, ties, skirts, black shoes, our formal office attire,

On approach, my cheeks flush, heart skip, dry throat,

We’re at work, behaviour, also follows the dress code.

Only two weeks, an eternity to me since we last spoke,

Milky pale or golden tanned, I’m attracted all the same.

Wide eyed, I straighten my bust, hanging for loopholes,

when listening about the holiday with your girlfriend.

 

Inviting you back for innocent tea, I could hardly believe,

When sitting on the sofa across, started talking dirty to me,

Could so easily slip onto your knee, let your hands roam free.

Waited in line, ready for the ride, but the seatbelt is too tight

Red lights flash, a school alarm bell goes off in the distance,

My imagination? Because you haven’t noticed anything.

 

Frustrated, I close the door, getting on with my delayed chores,

Silence. No streamers, cheers, parade, trumpets or trumbones.

No-one will ever know, I turned you down for the greater good.

I don’t know her name, or where she lives, but that she exsists,

A woman who trusts you with all of her mind, body and soul. 

 

Devil’s Advocate, or an aged old question – Like Hester in the Scarlett Letter,

Man’s decision to cheat, should a woman be branded just is a woman just as guilty,

for being the accessory? Do I owe anything to this person?

One thought on “The Greater Good

  1. Nephila says:

    Question for you: I have this neighbour with a horrible dog. He won’t restrain it. It messed my yard, it terrorises my kids, it gets in my way. It’s always in my driveway. Why don’t I just run over the damned thing? I didn’t make any promises to my neighbour. He doesn’t trust me or entrust his beloved dog to me. I made no promises to anyone about it.

    So would you run over the dog? It’s an impediment. It’s in your way. You could have such a nice place if if was not there. You don’t owe the dog.

    Do you run it down? It’s that simple. Right and wrong usually are. That’s why the mistress is just as bad as the cheating spouse.

Leave a comment